Malaysia Airlines is pleased to announce the introduction of yet another route to its network with the commencement of thrice weekly direct services between Kuala Lumpur and Kathmandu effective 1 September 2012.

A two-class configured Boeing 737-800 aircraft with 144 economy class seats and 16 business class seats will be used for flights to Kathmandu return service.

The introduction of the new link with flights to Kathmandu is in line with Malaysia Airlines’ continued efforts to further strengthen its regional market presence as outlined in its Business Plan announced on 7 Dec 2011.

Malaysia Airlines Regional Sales Vice President Malaysia & ASEAN Region, Encik Muzammil Mohamad said, “This is a timely addition to our network where Malaysia and Nepal can mutually benefit from various commercial relations including trade, investment and tourism promotions. We see great potential in Kathmandu, especially during the forthcoming year-end holiday season and have fast-tracked this aspect of our operations to commence services to Kathmandu this year. With flights to Nepal, Kathmandu is a hub for independent travellers as well as a growing vacation spot catering to all budgets. Surrounded by serene mountains, it is a perfect place for those who yearn for a relaxing year-end holiday or even a challenging mountain climbing adventure. We also foresee and welcome the labour market traffic from Nepal to Malaysia to use this direct connection”.

“Given the flight timings, this flight will also act as an excellent connecting flight between Malaysia and various main cities in the world. In total, Malaysia Airlines will be offering a capacity of 960 seats in both directions each week,” added Encik Muzammil.

In conjunction with the introduction of this new route, Malaysia Airlines is offering all-in return economy class promotional fares of only RM1200 for travel from Kuala Lumpur, Penang and Johor Bahru to Katmandu. Economy class travel from Kota Kinabalu and Kuching starts at only RM1878. Booking for these fares are from 9 July 2012 – 16 July 2012, valid for travel from 1 September 2012 to 31 December 2012.